America’s Greatest Triumph and its Fatal Flaw

I’ve always said that of all the flawed countries in the world, I’m glad that I belong to America.  I think being patriotic is important, but I don’t think that being patriotic entails ignoring all of your country’s flaws.  On the contrary, if we ignore our great country’s flaws, we can never better it or maintain it to the high standard we uphold it to be.  As for America, I consider it the greatest flawed country because although it is not perfect, I would much rather live here than anywhere else.  Permanently, that is.  I would most definitely consider living in other countries for shorter periods of time, but I will always call the good ol’ U.S. of A my one, true home.  And one of those reasons is simply that I, as a woman, recognize and value the rights that I have in this country that women in some other countries only ever dream of, and that is not something to take for granted.

But as for our wonderful, but flawed, country, I think America’s greatest triumph and its fatal flaw is really the same thing.  And that is all of the freedom that we have here, namely, the freedom of religion.  I think freedom of religion is one of the greatest gifts and freedoms that we have here in the U.S., the ability to practice whatever faith we choose and not have to be in fear of government persecution.  However, not having a national religion causes many of the most heated debates in our government today.  Two of the hottest topics, abortion and gay marriage, both come down to religious beliefs!  Therefore, as long as we have no official religion, we will never be able to come to a consensus on these topics (I shouldn’t say never, but it will certainly be quite some time); passing laws both in favor or against will be extremely difficult because there will always be one of the many religious sects in this country who is offended.

I say this not to suggest that we abolish the freedom of religion.  Freedoms such as these are what our great country was founded on, and to abolish them is to abolish America.  Instead, I bring this to light because acknowledging this fact can make our jobs a little easier, knowing what exactly it is that we’re struggling to overcome.  Being aware is the first step.

I have no answers.  I only point out what is.  And I certainly do not suggest that we employ a national religion.  To do so would cripple our nation, for as I have said, our freedoms are our greatest strength, sometimes bought at the price of our fatal flaw.

One nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

God bless America.  Land of the Free, Home of the Brave.

-Enjouée

 

Leave a Reply

