The End of the World as We Know It

Beginnings and endings- they’re quite funny things.  Often times coming in pairs, we tend to pay much more attention to one over the other.  This past summer was filled with beginnings and endings for me: graduating high school, opening and closing yet another show, and moving into college for the first time.  In the midst of all this change, I’ve found that our perspectives change too- that beginnings and endings show us what truly matters.

Don’t hate me, but “it’s funny how some distance makes everything seem small…”  It’s true that people come into our lives for different reasons, and not all of them are meant to stay there forever.  This transition period from high school through my first semester of college has provided me with the great opportunity to examine why I was brought together with certain people and why some people are or aren’t still a part of my life.  And who are the people that matter to me in the long haul.

I’ve also found that as we get older, most beginnings and endings become much less traumatic.  They shock our systems so much less.  Maybe we’ve adapted to change.  Now that’s a funny thought… But you finally realize that endings aren’t something to be afraid of.  Because every ending comes with a new beginning.  Even death.  And even more importantly, you learn that anything or anyone that’s important enough to you and your life will be with you on the other side of any ending.

There comes a point in our lives when we stop looking forward to endings because we realize that the endings we have left are getting fewer and fewer.  I think that’s why most elderly people stop looking forward to birthdays.  They no longer seem like an “accomplishment” worth celebrating but rather a countdown to the grave.  I’m only 18, so I don’t feel that way about birthdays yet, but I definitely have a new appreciation for the types of endings I’m experiencing.  Most of them only happen once and a lifetime, and if I don’t enjoy them while they’re here, well, they’re gone for good then.

But I guess it’s not really so much that we fear the end.  It’s what comes after the end that we’re afraid of.

I wish I could reassure you that all change is good- that every time there’s an ending, the new beginning is even better.  But we all know that that’s not true.  Sometimes things don’t turn out the way we’d hoped or planned, but there’s always a silver lining.

 

Even if the new beginning doesn’t live up to your expectations right away, something good is around the corner.  You just have to go out and get it.  Find that silver lining.  Turn on that light.  Because the most important thing about beginnings and endings is what you make of them.

And always keep in mind that it’s never over.  There’s always another chapter.  And when the book is finished, someone else will pick it up and give it some love.  Even though the ending can be a little bittersweet, there’s always something more.

Turn the page.  Something wonderful is waiting for you.

-Enjouée

Leave a Reply

