Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Boxers

One of the things about me that many people consider to be a flaw is that I’m incredibly blunt.  I rarely sugar-coat things, and it’s because I am a firm believer in the “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you” Golden Rule.  I would much rather have someone tell me straight up, even if being hit with the truth stings a little bit, than find out that I was lied to and that I had believed in something false.  Apparently most other people would prefer to live in a delusional world where they can believe what they want- what makes them feel good about themselves- even if it’s not the real truth.

Another thing about myself is that I go about my life the way I want to- even if that means lounging around in Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles boxers.

I used to get embarrassed or self-conscious when I’d walk to the bathroom or the bubbler in them because I always felt like people were judging me.  I’d feel especially awkward if I ran into my crush.

But then I realized that if someone can’t accept me for who I am- all of me- Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles boxers and all, then he doesn’t deserve me.  Because there is some guy out there who will love every part of me, including the dirty bits.

“There will always be a part of me that is sloppy and dirty, but I like that, just like all the other parts of myself.  I can forgive.”  -Tiffany, Silver Linings Playbook

There are reasons why I adore Silver Linings Playbook, including but not limited to that quote.  Can you say that you love all of your dirty bits?

It’s a hard thing to do.  Maybe something that we need to work at each and every day.  But, I promise you, it is the key to happiness because you can’t love anyone else- really love them- and accept the love that they give you in return unless you learn to love yourself first.  Dirty bits and all.

And that is why I proudly wear my Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles boxers- even in the dorm hallway where I know everyone can see me- including my crush.  It’s one of my “dirty bits” that I’ve accepted about myself.  Because the love I have for myself is worth a lot, and any love that comes from anyone else is only worth it if it comes unconditionally.

“To the wrong person, you’ll never have any worth, but to the right person, you’ll mean everything.” -Pastor Dave, God’s Not Dead

Unconditional love loves the dirty bits.

-Enjouée

Leave a Reply

