Helga the Conversation Starter

DSCN5100

It all started when I got this journal that had one page for every day of the year.  It was all dated out and everything.

Honestly, I have no idea how the actual idea was conceived, but at some point, I thought, “Wow, it would be really cool if I wrote down on each of these pages important things that happened or things that made me happy that day, and if I keep doing this for years, I’ll be able to see day-by-day what happened on each numerical day of my life.”  I used to have a decorative box that I would put dated post-its in that said the things that happened that day.  Usually it was the opening or closing of a show.  Or just a nice afternoon out with friends.  And then on New Years’ Eve, I opened that box, and with a smile on my face, read all of those little moments of happiness and copied them down in the journal.

This year, I keep my happy little post-it notes inside Helga.

Minor digression to explain how I came to own Helga: two of my church choir friends run the rummage sale that my church as at its annual festival, and most of the alto section and our manly friends help out by working it.  This summer, I jokingly said that everything I touched at the rummage would have to go with me to college at the end of the summer (and let me tell you that there was some pretty ugly stuff at that rummage sale!  And like 7 sets of golf clubs…).  Naturally, we had Helga in one of the prime display spots, and we took bets on how long it would take her to get bought.  Jokingly, I rubbed my hands all over her smooth, yellow back and said, “Guess she has to come with me to college!”  We all joked around that she would help me start conversations (hence her original name “Conversation Starter”) and subsequently make friends at college.  When Helga got bought, I should’ve seen it coming… guess who turned up, wrapped up all nicely, at my graduation party?

But anyway, I love Helga- especially since she holds all my little happy memories inside of her until I take them out on New Years’ Eve.

She’s in my dorm room at college now, and I know I have awesome roommates because they weren’t even concerned when I moved in with a huge yellow piggy bank.  Now, we plan on starting a room “Helga” because my roommates really like the idea of what I keep inside her.  We’ll start it in January and read through all the post-its at the end of the year in May.

If you’ve been around EurOK for awhile, you may have already read one of my previous New Year’s posts about how I don’t like New Year’s resolutions.  And I don’t.  So instead I offer you a challenge that you are more than welcome to take or leave.  My challenge is this: start your own personal Helga.  Find out for yourself how much happier you are when you take time to appreciate the little things in life.  I know it has definitely helped me to become a happier and much more optimistic person.  Helga keeps me always looking on the bright side of life.  She doesn’t need a lot of care- just some love (in the form of post-it notes!) every now and then- the more often, the better.

Many blessings as we embark on a new journey this year.

-Enjouée

Leave a Reply

