Quotes

My English teacher announced an upcoming assignment today during class. We’re going to be exploring ourselves as cultural identities and making a presentation to share with the class. Out of many other elements, the presentation must include a quote we think describes ourselves, or inspires us, or sums up our cultural beliefs. I’m obsessed with quotes. The second she said “quotes” I was itching to get my hands on my quote journal, antsy to find the perfect quote. But I couldn’t choose! I still don’t know which quote I’m going to use for the project, but I decided to make a blog post with all the possible options.

And though she be but little, she is fierce.

This is a quote by William Shakespeare. My friend wrote it on a coffee mug and gave it to me for Christmas, because she thought it described me. I am little- I’m around 5’4″, maybe a little shorter. As for fierce… I’m not fierce in the tough “in your face” way. But I’m fierce in other ways. I’m fiercely loyal, for one thing. I’m fiercely devoted to the things I believe in. There are a lot of ways to be fierce.

I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to put to rout all that was not life, and not, when I had come to die, discover that I had not lived.

This is from Henry David Thoreau. It’s a quote featured in Dead Poet’s Society, a movie that encourages everyone to really think about their lives, to break out from social norms, and pursue their dreams. Granted, the message is misinterpreted by a few of the boys- mainly Neal, but the movie and the quote are still inspirational. While I can’t say I’m going to literally go live in the woods, there are other ways I can live deep. Traveling is one. Or finding a hobby. Getting involved in school/community. Taking risks. Stepping outside of your comfort zone.

There was a time when the world asked ordinary men to do extraordinary things.

Band of Brothers. Majorly patriotic guys giving everything for their country. Absolute inspiration. Enough said.

I believe in pink. I believe laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day, and I believe in miracles. 

Audrey Hepburn. Her quote is almost as beautiful as she was. I love this quote because it sums me up pretty well. I love pink. I think the most attractive people are the people who laugh, and smile, and love living. I believe in miracles, definitely. And whenever I have a bad day, thinking about tomorrow, starting over… it always makes me feel better.

Here are just a few possibilities. I love quotes of all kinds, though, so I could probably go on for a while, on so many different themes. I just wanted to share a few. 🙂

Jeavoi

 

Leave a Reply

