Tears

We have this great opportunity on campus.  It’s called FOCUS, and every Sunday night, we gather together for worship with contemporary worship music, an excerpt from the Bible, some time for personal reflection, and even some skits.  My roommates and I have made a pretty good habit of trying to go every week, and I’ve found that it’s very refreshing.  It revives my soul for the upcoming week.

I’m starting to realize the difference between religious and spiritual.  I am more spiritual than religious.

Something rather curious happened to me during the first few weeks of FOCUS.  During one of the songs or the reflection time, I’d find myself with tears streaming down my cheeks.  They’d just flow freely, as if the flood gates had been opened.  Gently winding, winding, winding, until the pool was evidently dried up.

And I felt relieved.  Like a huge weight- burden- had been taken off my shoulder.  I could breathe again.

God was healing me.

He was taking away all that had been troubling me, all that I had been carrying with me.  I really can’t do this on my own.  I need Him.  And if I surrender myself up to Him, He is right there to lift me up.

Crying isn’t a weakness.  Crying is healing.

For the longest time, I wouldn’t let myself cry, and that is one of the most detrimental things I have ever done to myself.  We need to be able to cry- to release those emotions that really cannot be expressed effectively any other way.

So, when I go to FOCUS, and I find myself crying, I know that I am close to God.  That He and I are closer than ever.  Because He is healing me through those tears.  He is telling me that He has me, and that everything is going to be okay.  So, the next time you feel like you’re going to cry, I encourage you to let it happen.

Let Him heal you.

-Enjouée

Leave a Reply

