Mr. Darcy

“I love you. Most ardently.” -Mr. Darcy, Pride and Prejudice

I giggled into my sweatshirt when I watched Breaking Dawn in theaters with my friends. I laughed out loud during all the Nicholas Sparks movies I’ve ever seen. I would have made a movie critic proud with my sarcastic running commentary throughout the films. But, watching Pride and Prejudice with my sister, I squealed and bounced up and down on the couch when Mr. Darcy confronted Elizabeth and admitted he loved her. Why? What was so different about this love story than all the others?

I couldn’t tell you offhand. Maybe it was the waiting. Elizabeth and Darcy met, but their relationship didn’t start immediately. They kept me on the edge of my seat thinking, “This time, it’s it. He’s going to say something.” There was nobody throwing themselves at each other. No Bella forcing herself into Edward’s life. No dramatic, stalkery guy following a girl home until she is so flattered by his attention that instead of obtaining a restraining order like any sane person, she falls in love with him. Elizabeth and Darcy followed a very sane, normal romantic path. Instead of obsessing over breaking the rules, they were more concerned with the big picture. Darcy could marry her, sure, but his family wouldn’t be happy, and it would be a bit of a scandal seeing as she was from a lower class. Elizabeth could marry him, sure, but it might make an enemy out of his aunt, and she wanted to know how her family would feel, too.

Maybe it was also the fact that Elizabeth and Darcy weren’t perfect. They were very real people, and the problems they got into weren’t always forced on them. Sometimes, the problems didn’t come from outlying factors. Elizabeth and Darcy made mistakes and recognized mistakes in each other, even after they were in love. There were no unrealistic expectations.

I hope to have a romance like Elizabeth and Darcy’s. If you haven’t seen the movie, I recommend it. Look at the respect they have in their relationship, and the love, and the way they approach it with common sense, patience, and consideration to others (when necessary. They aren’t very considerate of Darcy’s aunt, but that woman is evil and I stand by them in their decisions).

Elizabeth said, “Only the deepest love will persuade me into matrimony.” I’m only going to marry when I find a guy who is worth it. And I’m not going to compromise. If I date less than other people because I’m waiting for a guy who has the qualities I’m looking for, then fine. I’ll have a few less experiences, and a few less broken hearts. Elizabeth and Darcy didn’t seem any less happy, even though they were each other’s first love, with no previous experience. I’m not saying I’ll marry my first love, I’m just saying I’m waiting for a first love that I could potentially marry, instead of some first love I know is a stupid decision, and will never work. I’m sticking it out for a Mr. Darcy. Hopefully, he’s sticking it out for me, too.

Jeavoi

Leave a Reply

