The Glass is Half Full: A Smart Girl’s Guide to Beauty

“You’re working an eight hour shift on the Fourth of July?  That sucks.”

“Nah, not really.  I had Christmas and Easter off, and I’d rather have that than the Fourth of July.”

“Wow, you’re really a ‘glass is half full’ kind of person.”

Yes, this was a legitimate conversation that took place between myself and one of my coworkers.  And that’s when it really hit me: I am a “glass is half full” kind of person.  But I haven’t always been that way.

I’ve recently been looking through lots of old photo albums, compiling pictures that really showcase my transformation from kindergarten peanut to high school graduate, and even in the most awkward of pictures, it is painfully obvious whether or not I was happy.  Now maybe it was painfully obvious to me because I know which of those years were indeed the torture years, but I think it’s more than that.

I became aware of something.  And that something is, you’re beautiful when you’re happy.  There is a noticeable difference in those pictures I just described.  In the ones where I’m unhappy, I’m not as pretty.  Conversely, in the ones where I’m happy, I’m pretty.  Or beautiful, even!

And I don’t think that this is some magic transformation that happens just for me.  I think it happens for everyone.  Sure, part of it’s perspective.  If you’re happy, you’re way less to look at yourself as ugly or fat or whatever negative adjectives you can come up with.  But just as important, when you’re happy, your internal beauty shows through your external!

So many girls (and guys too) are too busy focusing on what they look like on the outside than being concerned about their much more important inside.  Beauty can’t make happiness; all it does is create an obsession over maintaining it, which I guarantee will drive anyone mad with age.  Let me let you in on a little secret: beauty is fleeting and worn down by the sands of time, and there is no stopping it!  But the good news is that happiness can make beauty at five, fifty, or ninety-five.  If we all focused on finding true happiness (by now you’ve probably figured out that I don’t mean the kind derived from material things!), we’d not only be happier, but we’d all be much more beautiful people!

So, yes, I have become a “glass is half full” kind of person.  And I’m really proud of that, because I haven’t always been that way.  I’ll take “wow, you’re really happy” as a compliment any day.  But it also means “wow, you’re beautiful.”

-Enjouée

Don’t believe me?  Give this a try: http://100happydays.com/.  It changed my life.  But don’t do it for me, don’t do it to feed social media: do it for yourself.  I did, and it has made all the difference.  All it takes is one step.

Leave a Reply

