Let’s just be friends!

I’m baaaack!

After a long, unexplained (sorry!) hiatus, I’m back on the blog and ready to write. And, my oh my, do I have something to write about today!

Back story. I met this boy at the beginning of second semester. We had two classes together, which was funny considering I had never seen him before in my life. He was cute… very cute. A boy who came with bragging rights. We hit it off almost right away, virtually skipping the friends stage and jumping straight into the texting all day, every day and flirting all the time. Our personalities meshed well; we both loved deep conversations, talking about the bigger picture. He was smart and knew so many things I didn’t. I was cultured and well-traveled and knew things about the world he didn’t. We would take hours long dates on Fridays, leaving right after school let out and not getting home until eleven or twelve. And we never ran out of things to talk about. I’d never met a boy I liked so well. 

The high lasted until spring break. He jetted off to the Caribbean and I went with family to Southern Florida. During that time my sister confessed to me she didn’t like him at all, a confession that boggled my mind. How someone couldn’t like that boy was beyond me. But then I started thinking about it… and I realized there were a million things I didn’t like about him either. He didn’t pay, he didn’t open doors (which may not seem like big deals, but they show how much respect… or lack thereof… he had for me), and he never asked me about the things I was interested in… we mostly talked about him. Which, in the moment, never bothered me. He was a really interesting person! But removed from him, I realized how much he WASN’T adding to my life. 

So long story short a month later I told him I just wanted to be friends. Things had cooled down since spring break and I figured things would be great as soon as we were back to being friends. So I said, “Let’s be friends!” he said, “Hey, that’s great!”

… and then he unfollowed me on Twitter, unfriended me on Snapchat, stopped answering texts, and began bolting out of the classes we had together as soon as the bell rang. And then, to top it all off, I ran into his mom (whom I adore) a few weeks later and she said, “I’m sorry things didn’t work out for you two… I liked you! But it’s his loss…”

It’s his loss? A mother does not say that to the girl who called things off with her son. A mother says that to the girl who has been dumped by her son. 

And now I come to the point of this post… immature break-ups. 

WHY?!

You fell for that person for a reason… something about them captured your attention and captured your affection. Something about them made you smile, made you laugh, gave you butterflies. That thing doesn’t disappear… I mean, unless they were completely leading you on in the beginning and nothing was ever real… but generally speaking, the thing that caught your eye/intellect doesn’t go away. Why not appreciate that as friends? So it didn’t work out. So what? Enjoy the memories and try to keep up a friendship with someone who obviously meant something to you… and to whom you obviously meant something.

Hugs!

 

Vivaz 

Leave a Reply

