Blessed

In the midst of everything that seems to be going wrong, we all forget to take a step back and remember to count our blessings.  It’s great that we have Thanksgiving as a reminder to be thankful for all of the good in our lives, but unfortunately, sometimes Thanksgiving doesn’t even do that for us.  Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could have a “mini-Thanksgiving” every day?  Well, the good news is, we can!

I know it sounds corny (hey, another thing we eat on Thanksgiving!), but we don’t need Thanksgiving to remember all of the things we have been blessed with in our lives.  I think I can safely guarantee that we’d all be so much happier if we counted the blessings in our day instead of the things that go wrong.  I think that’s why the song “Count Your Blessings” from the classic Christmas movie White Christmas is so endearing.  It truly reminds us all how blessed we are, even without Thanksgiving to remind us.  (Okay, okay, I’ll stop lecturing you.  You all get the point.  Be genuinely grateful in everyday life because you’re not entitled to anything.)

This Thanksgiving was also a really special day for my family because we were able to celebrate Thanksgiving with my grandparents who, as I mentioned over a month ago in my post “Miracles Happen,” were declining in health, and for awhile, it didn’t look like a happy, healthy Thanksgiving was in our future.  And yet, today we were blessed with the opportunity to celebrate without health concerns, to just be together and enjoy each others’ company.  I will wholeheartedly tell anyone that what happened with my grandparents was a miracle, and celebrating this holiday with them today just put that even more in perspective.  Not only is it a miracle, but it’s also a blessing.

I’ve just been really cognizant lately of the fact that God takes care of me.  He blesses me.  I’ve learned to offer things up to him, especially when I’m worried or scared about things that I have no control over.  And you know what?  He always pulls through.  Sometimes things don’t work out the way I’d planned, but they always end up being for the better.  And that’s the power of God.  He blesses us with what we need, even if it’s not what we want.

For a month now, I’ve been working on my high school musical of Les Misérables, and I have been incredibly blessed to have been given the coveted role of Fantine.  Almost every day I think about what a blessing that is and what a responsibility it bears with it.  Fantine is my dream role (haha, I dreamed a dream…), and to get to play it my senior year after all the hard work I have put into my school’s choir and drama departments since the seventh grade alongside some very talented friends of mine, is surreal.  Sometimes I am almost brought to tears when I think of the power of this opportunity.  And one of the greatest things about Fantine is not only that she is an amazingly strong, selfless, and compassionate woman, but that she has the power to move people and make them feel something.  One of the greatest rewards I could receive is to know that I touch the audience with my performance.  And knowing that the mark I will leave on my high school stage is Fantine, is priceless.

Undoubtedly, Fantine will change me.  But more on that later.  Today is a day not only to remember our blessings, but to remember that we are blessed every day.  At Mass this morning, my pastor said it best: “Give thanks, and be happy.”  I think that sums up Thanksgiving.  Actually, I think that sums up life.

-Enjouée

3 thoughts on “Blessed

  1. Pingback: By counting our blessings we not only feel good, but we multiply our good | Stepping Toes

Leave a Reply

