DQ

DQ.  That’s where the encounter took place.  Dairy Queen.  It took me completely by surprise, and to be quite honest, rather discumbobulated me.  I didn’t expect to see him there, and I can say with much certainty that he hadn’t expected to see me there either.  And mutually, I think we’d be able to agree, after the fact, that we hadn’t planned on spending forty-five minutes talking to each other: he with his dad, and me with both of my parents and my younger brother.

Oh, the irony!  Hadn’t I said at one point in the conversation “Everything happens for a reason”?.  I distinctly recall having said that.  And it wasn’t until I had driven home in the dark to find that it was nearly 10 p.m. that I realized: everything happens for a reason.  What, then, was the reason for this encounter we had, out of the blue, at the local Dairy Queen?

We don’t have history.  I mean, not THAT kind of history. And yet, every now and then, we just have these little moments.  Like that encounter.  And  now, the question running through my mind is: Why were we brought together there, at that point in time?

I can also say with near certainty that he is not reading this right now, and if he is, well, he maybe learned something about me today.  But, anyway, the point really isn’t, “Enjouée met this guy at the DQ and is now wondering why it randomly happened.”  The encounter just really got me thinking.  Everything happens for a reason, and I truly believe that.  It took me a long time to get there, but as I’ve grown, I’ve been able to see that everything works out for the best, the way it’s supposed to work out.  I’ve seen it in every part of my life; no part has been exempt.

I think that’s a valuable lesson to learn and an unsurpassable ingredient in the recipe to a happy life.  How is it then that it is so hard to find this ingredient?  The problem is rooted in the average person’s fear of being out of control.  We don’t want to let go of control, even if it makes us tense, which is exactly what happens when things don’t go our way.  The philosophy of “Everything happens for a reason” is in some ways very synonymous with “Hakuna Matata.”  After all, is it not true that when you decide “Everything happens for a reason,” you are freed from your worries?  “Everything happens for a reason,” or what I’m now going to call “the DQ Philosophy,” is a way of life; it requires growth and change, which we all know don’t happen overnight.  I know some of you don’t want to hear this, but in order to reap the full benefits of the DQ Philosophy, you’re going to have to work at it.

Yes, WORK at it.  Turning oppressive thoughts around is no easy task, but I can assure you that it’s well worth the work.  Start slow.  Surrender small things that don’t go as you’d planned them, like getting stuck in a traffic jam on the way to the grocery store.  Now is when you need to realize that you may not immediately see all of the benefits of the DQ Philosophy.  The immediate benefit is always peace of mind, or at least, it should be when it’s used correctly.  The DQ Philosophy prevents stress by letting you know that everything is okay, and everything will turn out as it should.  The more long term effects of “How DID this turn out for the better?” may be immediate, but it also may take some time.  Don’t believe me?  Let me give you an example:

I have a really talented friend.  He’s amazing.  He auditioned for a show this summer.  He never gets cut.  He got cut.  What’s the catch?  Instead he got to go to New York and won an award there for his excellence in high school musical theater.  Beats being in a show for the summer, don’t you think?  He didn’t see the benefits of being cut from the show right away, but in the end, it worked out in his favor.  And in the way it was meant to.

So.  I encourage you to implement the DQ Philosophy in your everyday life.  And like I said, start small.  Once you master surrendering the small, and you start to see the positive effects, you’ll slowly be able to move onto surrendering bigger things.  And you will truly start to believe that everything does happen for a reason.

-Enjouée

Leave a Reply

