“Mama Says”

Some of you can probably guess exactly where this post is going, and some of you are utterly clueless, reading this like “Oh, jeez, where’s she going with this one.”  Your musical knowledge will determine this one.  If you find yourself in the second group, I recommend that you listen to this clip on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHmbRipe1HU&oq=mama%20says&gs_l=youtube..0.5j0l9.15728.16519.0.18432.9.9.0.0.0.0.172.955.4j5.9.0.eytns%2Cpt%3D-30%2Cn%3D2%2Cui%3Dt.1.0.0…1ac.1.11.youtube.Df6OLgjR9YQ; it’ll give you a clue as to what this post will be about.

Everybody has dreams.  Everybody has things they believe in.  Everybody has doubts.  Everybody has fears.  And there are times when everybody gives up and feels like there is no way to go on (if you are a Les Mis fan, you’re probably hearing “Javert’s Suicide” right about now).  I’m so not promoting Glee, but I like this song because everybody can relate to the lyrics: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pkb9uyPC-Rk.  So now, the hard thing is overcoming these feelings of helplessness and aimlessness.  What DO you do when your good isn’t good enough?

Well, my friends, that is exactly where Willard’s Mama’s advice comes into play- or at least, “Once you drive up a mountain, you can’t back down.”  I like that.  I like her way of saying “Hard work pays off” and “Never give up.”  Plus, the song is just plain catchy (and way better than Justin Bieber’s “Never Say Never”).  Sometimes, though, the problem is that we don’t know how to keep going, what our next strategy should be.  Devising a battle plan is no easy feat- especially if you’ve already employed several plans of attack.  Now is where, pardon my cliché, I tell you to “think outside the box.”

Let me tell you story.  One of my drama directors once told me about an actor friend of his living in New York.  He was constantly trying to make ends meet, doing audition after audition and hoping to get cast.  Nothing.  Then, he shifted his focus.  Instead of putting all of his energy into his career, he made his kids more of a focus in his life.  Suddenly, he noticed a change.  He found himself with multiple job offers and steady work.  How did he do it, you ask?  Well, for starters, he shifted his priorities.  He gave more attention to a part of his life that needed it because he had been neglecting it.

The other part of it, I don’t know if he did it on purpose or if it just worked out that way, but “fixing” his problem really didn’t directly have to do with “fixing” it.  By adjusting another part of his life, he was able to “fix” the part that he really wanted to change.  See, we, as humans, like to fix things.  If there’s a problem, we attack it.  Directly.  However, this story demonstrates how that is not always the solution.  So, when I say “think outside the box,” I mean that maybe there’s a part of your life that you’ve been neglecting.  Maybe what you need is to focus on another part of your life for a change instead of focusing on what’s giving you trouble.  Maybe you just need to let things be- let them fall into place the way they’re meant to.

Now, there are some of you reading who are thinking “Does this chick actually realize what she’s saying?!  That’s way easier said than done.  I can’t just stop worrying!” and I cannot fault you for thinking that because typically I am totally one of those people.  However, I have come to learn that worrying and obsessing and trying to control is not remotely helpful.  The best thing you can do is let go.  And so, my friends, that is why I am here to help.  I don’t want to talk about it too much now, but my suggestions to you for letting go are as follows: write your thoughts and feelings down in a journal (or if you’re like me, then some of that can take the form of a blog!) and do yoga (I have some special stories about this that I’ll be sharing later)- I’ll just let you sit with those two concepts for right now.  The reason I’m telling you these is because they both bring inner peace.  And let me tell you, once you discover inner peace, the world around you will seem so much more manageable.

So, when you’re driving up that mountain and you’re scared you can’t make it, try shifting gears a little bit, maybe turning the stearing wheel, because once you drive up a mountain, you can’t back down.

-Enjouée

Leave a Reply

