Don’t Cry Over Spilled Soup

You’ve all heard the classic saying, “Don’t cry over spilled milk.” Well, when it comes to making French onion soup, it really is “Don’t cry over spilled soup.” Well, not really. I didn’t spill the soup… but I did cry over it. I cry whenever I have to cut up onions. The tears were worth it, though, because I sure ended up with something delicious!
Considering that this is our blog to share all things European, why not share some of our favorite foreign recipes? The first of which being the French classic “soupe à l’oignon gratine,” or French onion soup as we know it. First, a little background: onion soup is said to have originated back with the Romans as a soup for poor people due to their ability to easily cultivate onions in abundance. The modern-day “French onion soup” as we know it is said to have developed in eighteenth-century France when they began adding beef broth and caramelized onions to the vegetable stew that was the soup. In the U.S., it started becoming popular during the 1960s when we started taking more interest in French cuisine.
Today, French onion soup is popular in France and in the U.S. It can even be found in restaurants such as Applebee’s that aren’t even French at all! Personally, I think the most alluring thing about French onion soup is the Gruyère (Swiss) cheese that cascades over the sides of the bowl and then breaking through it into the croutons and soup as it steams up from the bowl- perfect for a cold, winter day. I’m really glad I found this recipe because it is something that I’m definitely saving- particularly for that cold, winter day. In the future, I also hope to be able to make my own croutons like the recipe says instead of using store-bought ones.
If you’d like to give the French onion soup a try, here’s the recipe I used: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/french-onion-soup-gratinee/. We’d love to get comments after you try it- especially if you make homemade croutons! Below are some sites that have more information on French onion soup, some of which I shared with you already:
http://www.bubblews.com/news/252344-history-of-french-onion-soup
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/French_onion_soup
http://comfyinthekitchen.com/2011/03/bistro-lunch-at-home-french-onion-soup/
http://www.discusscooking.com/forums/f56/what-can-i-serve-with-french-onion-soup-3430.html
If you need any more persuading to try it, here is what my family said after tasting it:
Mom: “A hit. Yummy.”
Dad: “Two thumbs up.”
Brother: “Like ‘restaurant’ French onion soup. Like eating pizza in Italy.”

If that doesn’t convince you, I don’t know what will. Go ahead. I DARE you!
-Enjouée

Leave a Reply

